Eagle River Spring Classic Results

Category: Tournament

 Jun 15th, 2020 by Keith Worrall 

Modified Jun 15th, 2020 at 8:53 AM

Facebook weigh in Video

Spring Classic Muskie Tournament

We wrapped up the 2020 Spring Classic of Champions today. The Classic has been going on for 40 years this year. As we all know this year has brought us some challenges on our every day lives, and our tournament is no different. So we had to make some changes too. Not having a Friday night meeting, raffles, and the lunch at the awards are just a few. We did some of this Facebook live to share with others. With the ideas from my team and help from Shotskis bar and the blessing of the DNR we were able to hold this year’s tournament all while doing our best to keep everyone safe. Whats a better way to social distance than out on a boat enjoying Wisconsin’s outdoors! The muskies had thier own idea of social distancing, along with the cold front that has passed through the northwoods. This contributed to a lower number of fish being caught, but as always some teams found a way to boat some fish. 17 teams put fish in the net this year. Area anglers Pete Bliicharz and Mitch Ellis found a pattern that worked for them as they were able to put 3 fish in the net that surpassed the 34″ size limit. With a total of 122 points they were able to take home the first place prize of $12,000. 2nd place went to Tom and Tim Mathu with 2 fish totaling 110 points and $6000, and 3rd place went to Brad Wirt and Kurt Hagen with 75 points and $4000. Big fish on Saturday went to Brad Wirt with a healthy 45.25 incher good for $500. Big fish on Sunday went to Michael Keller with a 44.50 incher also good for $500. On behalf of Muskie’s Inc. Headwaters Chapter I would like to thank all of the anglers for your participation in this years tournament. I would also like to give a shoot out again to Shotskis Bar in Eagle River for hosting our event, and to my team. Shelley Rahlf, Brian Schield, Dana Schield, Bill Jacobs, Carol Heffner, Diane Jensen, Bob Jacobs, Korey Jacobs, Andy Henrickson.

We look foreward to seeing you all in 2021.

Tom Rahlf
Tournament Director.

More like this