Blosser Takes Lead in Angler of the Year Standings

Category: press release

 Aug 23rd, 2010 by OutdoorsFIRST 

Modified Aug 23rd, 2010 at 12:00 AM

For 2010, the J.J. Keller Fishing Team has offered a $10,000 prize to the AIM Angler of the Year. The Angler of the Year is a compilation of tournament results across the three AIM Pro Walleye Series™ qualifying tournaments and the AIM International Walleye Championship™.

Robert Blosser holds less than a two point lead over Jarrad Fluekiger.

To many Pro Anglers, the Angler of the Year title is the most important in their career. This is because it is earned on the basis of consistently high finishes at successive tournaments – all on different bodies of water in different states and in vastly different conditions. The J.J. Keller Angler of the Year title exemplifies professional tournament fishing excellence over the entire season.

Robert Blosser of Poynette, Wisconsin leads the 2010 J.J. Keller Angler of the Year race after the last tournament at the South Dakota Walleye Classic and going into the AIM International Walleye Championship™ at Lake Winnibigoshish, Minnesota. Robert was the champion at the AIM tournament in Green Bay, WI in July. Following closely in second place is Jarrad Fluekiger, the champion at the first AIM tournament of 2010 in Bay City, MI. Below are the Top 20 in Angler of the Year points:

1.    Robert Blosser        (WI)        255.11 points
2.    Jarrad Fluekiger      (WI)        253.96
3.    Keith Kavajecz       (WI)        248.16
4.    Jim Carroll             (ND)        240.23
5.    Chad Schilling        (SD)        234.20
6.    Rick Olson             (SD)        234.20
7.    Joe Okada            (WI)        226.37
8.    John Kolinski          (WI)        224.61
9.    Mike Gofron           (IL)        223.54
10.    Jesse Buechel      (WI)        217.56
11.    John Schneider     (WI)        212.78
12.    Tom Gatzke         (WI)        210.87
13.    Gary Parsons        (WI)        209.31
14.    Brandon Carpenter (MI)        205.78
15.    Bruce Samson      (MN)        204.45
16.    David A Andersen  (WI)        202.91
17.    Rich Boggs          (MN)        201.69
18.    Tom Kemos          (WI)        200.93
19.    Pat Neu               (WI)        198.55
20.    Dennis Gulau        (MI)        196.20

It can be easily seen that the top places are separated by only a few points. This is especially significant in light of the AIM Catch-Record-Release™ format which allows each Pro Angler to weigh the seven largest fish each day, irregardless of the local “slot limit” which “CRR” avoids. A bad day on Lake Winnie by the leaders will open the door for any of the Pro Anglers in the Top Ten who are lurking close behind.

The AIM International Walleye Championship™ will be held September 1 to 3 at Lake WInnibigoshish in northern Minnesota. In 2009, AIM Pro Angler Todd Riley lead from start to finish to capture not only the Championship but also the 2009 Angler of the Year title with a three-day total weight of over 100 pounds of walleyes!

Further information about AIM as well as up-to-the-minute updates about tournaments can be found at the AIM web site: www.aimfishing.com. Additional information about the Lake Winnibigoshish area can be found at www.lakewinnie.net.

#     #     #

Anglers Insight Marketing, LLC™ (AIM) is a unique tournament organization which is owned by stockholders, the majority of which are Professional walleye anglers. AIM Professionals are among the “All Stars” of professional fishing, with cumulative HUNDREDS of years of tournament experience, including countless tournament victories, series championships, and Angler of the Year titles. This insight and knowledge is now being employed to provide the finest tournament experience for the participants, and the maximum exposure for the host tournament sites and corporate partners.

More like this