Second Century Habitat Fund Awards Terry Ness the 2022 Habitat Steward Award

Category: article

 Oct 20th, 2022 by Keith Worrall 

Modified Oct 20th, 2022 at 10:29 AM

Second Century Habitat Fund Awards Terry Ness the 2022 Habitat Steward Award

Far too often our true conservation heroes aren’t recognized for all that they do toensure South Dakota’s wildlife has abundant habitat to flourish in. Second Century Habitat Fund recognizes this in our community and has made it a priority to annually recognize a South Dakota landowner, farmer, or rancher that has gone above and beyond to give back to the land they manage. This year we had several great nominees but one stood out above the rest for his several years of service to the conservation community and proven practices of land management to maximize habitat for all species.

“Terry Ness is our Habitat Steward Award recipient for 2022 and we couldn’t be more honored to recognize him for all his efforts. Terry has been practicing soil management for years on his property and it has proven to be very successful with the abundant amount of wildlife that inhabitants his property. Terry also hosts military members and youth hunters to his property to experience excellent pheasant hunting while carrying on rich traditions of South Dakota hunting heritage” said Brian Bashore, Executive Director of SCHF Terry received a $2,000 cash award and a plaque presented to him during the Aberdeen (Northeast) Pheasant Forever chapter Fall Flush fundraiser. You can read Terry’s nomination letter in full here: Nomination Letter. You can find more information or submit a nominee for the 2023 Habitat Steward Award at  sdhabitatfund.org  

About Second Century Habitat Fund, South Dakota

The Second Century Habitat Fund is a nonprofit 501 c3 corporation that works to educate landowners on the importance of grassland to improve pheasant habitat in South Dakota. The Fund is governed by a Board of Directors representing landowners, business owners, pheasant preserve operators, and community leaders across South Dakota.

More like this