Bassmaster Elite Series Field Set for 2011

Category: press release

 Jan 11th, 2011 by OutdoorsFIRST 

Modified Jan 11th, 2011 at 12:00 AM

The field of competitors for the 2011 Bassmaster Elite Series has been set. The 101 most talented anglers in bass fishing will be competing for the coveted 2011 Toyota Tundra Bassmaster Angler of the Year title.

The Elite field accounts for 16 Bassmaster Classic titles (including four-time champion Rick Clunn and three-time champ Kevin VanDam), 20 Toyota Tundra Bassmaster Angler of the Year awards (including six-time winner Kevin VanDam) and more than 200 B.A.S.S. victories. The season kicks off March 10-13 with the Sunshine Showdown on the Harris Chain of Lakes in Tavares, Fla. The regular season will conclude with the Dixie Duel on Wheeler Lake, June 16-19, in Decatur, Ala.

Qualifying anglers and their hometowns are listed below. They represent 25 different states plus Japan. Texas has the most competitors with 16, followed by Alabama with 13.

New to the Elite Series for 2011 are Dean Alexander, Keith Combs (2010 Bass Pro Shops Bassmaster Central Open points champion), Ott Defoe, Travis Manson, Andy Montgomery, Brandon Palaniuk (2010 B.A.S.S. Federation Nation Championship presented by Yamaha and Skeeter Boats winner), Ben Parker, Russell Parrish, Ryan Said (2010 Bass Pro Shops Bassmaster Northern Opens points champion), Craig Schuff, Lee Sisson, James Stricklin, Jonathon VanDam (nephew of six-time Bassmaster Angler of the Year Kevin VanDam), David Walker and Nate Wellman.

2011 Bassmaster Elite Series Anglers

Dean Alexander, Florence, Texas
Casey Ashley, Donalds, S.C.
Scott Ashmore, Broken Arrow, Okla.
Tommy Biffle, Wagoner, Okla.
Denny Brauer, Camdenton, Mo.
Brent Broderick, Oregonia, Ohio
Stephen Browning, Hot Springs, Ark.
Terry Butcher, Talala, Okla.
Brent Chapman, Lake Quivira, Kan.
Rick Clunn, Ava, Mo.
Keith Combs, Del Rio, Texas
Jeff Connella, Bentley, La.
John Crews, Salem, Va.
Cliff Crochet, Pierre Part, La.
Mark Davis, Mount Ida, Ark.
Ott DeFoe, Knoxville, Tenn.
Boyd Duckett, Demopolis, Ala.
Paul Elias, Laurel, Miss.
Edwin Evers, Talala, Okla.
Todd Faircloth, Jasper, Texas
Jami Fralick, Martin, S.D.
Grant Goldbeck, Boerne, Texas
Pat Golden, High Point, N.C.
Matt Greenblatt, Tequesta, Fla.
Chad Griffin, Cresson, Texas
Shaw Grigsby, Gainesville, Fla.
Greg Hackney, Gonzales, La.
Bradley Hallman, Norman, Okla.
Charlie Hartley, Grove City, Ohio
Byron “B.J.” Haseotes, Centerville, Mass.
Matt Herren, Trussville, Ala.
Kenyon Hill, Norman, Okla.
Davy Hite, Ninety Six, S.C.
Tim Horton, Muscle Shoals, Ala.
Randy Howell, Springville, Ala.
Michael Iaconelli, Pittsgrove, N.J.
Alton Jones, Woodway, Texas
Kelly Jordon, Mineola, Texas
Steve Kennedy, Auburn, Ala.
Kotaro Kiriyama, Moody, Ala.
Gary Klein, Weatherford, Texas
Jeff Kriet, Ardmore, Okla.
Bobby Lane, Lakeland, Fla.
Chris Lane, Guntersville, Ala.
Russ Lane, Prattville, Ala.
Jared Lintner, Arroyo Grande, Calif.
Bill Lowen, North Bend, Ohio
Travis Manson, Green Bay, Wis.
Aaron Martens, Leeds, Ala.
Billy McCaghren, Mayflower, Ark.
Mike McClelland, Bella Vista, Ark.
Mark Menendez, Paducah, Ky.
Yusuke Miyazaki, Forney, Texas
Ish Monroe, Hughson, Calif.
Andy Montgomery, Blacksburg, S.C.
Rick Morris, Lake Gaston, Va.
John Murray, Phoenix, Ariz.
Britt Myers, Lake Wylie, N.C.
James Niggemeyer, Van, Texas
Takahiro Omori, Emory, Texas
Cliff Pace, Petal, Miss.
Brandon Palaniuk, Rathdrum, Id.
Ben Parker, Springville, Tenn.
Russell Parrish, Riesel, Texas
Keith Poche, Troy, Ala.
Pete Ponds, Madison, Miss.
Jason Quinn, York, S.C.
Matt Reed, Madisonville, Texas
Clark Reehm, Russellville, Ark.
Skeet Reese, Auburn, Calif.
Derek Remitz, Grant, Ala.
Marty Robinson, Lyman, S.C.
Dean Rojas, Lake Havasu City, Ariz.
Scott Rook, Little Rock, Ark.
Fred Roumbanis, Bixby, Okla.
Zell Rowland, Austin, Texas
Bradley Roy, Lancaster, Ky.
Ryan Said, Wixom, Mich.
Craig Schuff, Watauga, Texas
Bernie Schultz, Gainesville, Fla.
Terry Scroggins, San Mateo, Fla.
Morizo Shimizu, Suita, Japan
Kevin Short, Mayflower, Ark.
Lee Sisson, Winter Haven, Fla.
David Smith, Edmond, Okla.
Brian Snowden, Reeds Spring, Mo.
Jeremy Starks, Charleston, W.Va.
James Stricklin, Jasper, Texas
Gerald Swindle, Warrior, Ala.
Peter Thliveros, St. Augustine, Fla.
Dennis Tietje, Roanoke, La.
J. Todd Tucker, Moultrie, Ga.
Jonathon VanDam, Kalamazoo, Mich.
Kevin VanDam, Kalamazoo, Mich.
Greg Vinson, Wetumpka, Ala.
David Walker, Sevierville, Tenn.
Nate Wellman, Newaygo, Mich.
Dustin Wilks, Rocky Mount, N.C.
Jason Williamson, Wagener, S.C.
Kevin Wirth, Crestwood, Ky.
Dave Wolak, Wake Forest, N.C.



About B.A.S.S.

For more than 40 years, B.A.S.S. has served as the authority on bass fishing. The organization advances the sport through advocacy, outreach and an expansive tournament structure while connecting directly with the passionate community of bass anglers through its Bassmaster media vehicles.


The Bassmaster brand and its multimedia platforms are guided by a mission to serve all fishing fans. Through its industry-leading publications – Bassmaster Magazine and B.A.S.S. Times – comprehensive website Bassmaster.com, and ESPN2 television programming, Bassmaster provides rich, leading-edge content true to the lifestyle.


The Bassmaster Tournament Trail includes the Bassmaster Elite Series, Bass Pro Shops Bassmaster Open Series, B.A.S.S. Federation Nation events presented by Yamaha and Skeeter Boats and the ultimate celebration of competitive fishing, the Bassmaster Classic.


B.A.S.S. offers an array of services to its more than 500,000 members and remains focused on issues related to conservation and water access. The organization is headquartered in Celebration, Fla.



More like this